Thrift Coat: Button Replacement

IMG_1406corrected

I came across this cute, medium weight coat at Goodwill a few years ago, thinking it’d be a great fall/spring coat {at a steal!} for Ainsley when she was big enough for it.  It appeared to be in good condition, but I did not examine it too closely since I was quickly scanning through the rack looking for something specific.  I washed it and threw it in the bigger sized clothing storage for later. Later came and we pulled the coat out when we needed it.  Jeremy put the coat on Ainsley and said “Uh, did you know there are no buttons on this?”  Oops!  My bad!

IMG_9776

But this was an easy fix!  It took very little time and effort. All I used for this project was:

  • Ribbon (the heavier the better)
  • Buttons
  • Thread/sewing machine

I had everything on hand, so this was essentials and “free” project.  Aside from the $3 I spent on the jacket. The previous owner of this jacket really loved the buttons.  They removed all of them!  Every single one.  And by removed, I mean ripped!  There were large, torn holes left where each button on the placket once was.

IMG_9777 IMG_9779IMG_9780

No worries!  I’ll just replace them!  I sewed ribbon down the front to cover the holes where the buttons were torn off.  Then used a button covering kit and some fabric I had on hand to make some buttons.

 IMG_9781 IMG_9782IMG_9785 IMG_9786 IMG_9787correctedIMG_9788 IMG_9789 IMG_9791 IMG_9792

In hindsight, I should have just used plastic buttons because they slip through the button holes much easier.  But I didn’t have any, so I went with what I had. It turned out a bit more whimsical than I had planned, I’m happy with it for not having to spend much time or money on it!  It’s a nice jacket to transition to Spring or going into Fall!

IMG_1405

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

