DIY Cheap Chalkboard

DIY Chalk Board..

I wanted a large, framed chalkboard to use for a family calendar, but the ones I found on Amazon were priced more than I wanted to spend or didn’t have the best reviews.  {I am a review reader!  It pays to read ’em!}  I didn’t really want to take a lot of time or effort to DIY something, even though this project from iHeart Organizing was perfect!  I didn’t want to cut or nail for this project…

Then I got some inspiration from this DIY project from Sara D on her blog Sincerely Sara D.  She made the project a few steps easier by repurposing an old mirror!  I’m so jealous of the amazing vintage mirror she found!  But I also love the poster frame I got for just $12.99 at Michael’s!  {Frame sale!!!}

IMG_3184

Jen from iHeart Organizing spray painted MDF board for the chalkboard and it seemed to work great.  So I covered the MDF backing of the poster frame with two coats of Rust-oleum Chalkboard Spray Paint.  Then hung it on the wall.  Could be the easiest project I’ve ever done.  The only change I made was adding another month to the calendar.  I like having the next month already up for future referencing.  You could easily customize to your needs and wants.

IMG_3185

When you use chalk pens, you can actually use them on various surfaces.  I bought a white permanent marker like Jen had to make the calendar box outline, but I wanted to see what it looked like before I permanently marked my new chalkboard.  I outlined the two month’s boxes with a white chalk pen and decided to try it out a few months.  Then I got to thinking, I could just put the plexiglass back over the MDF chalkboard and write with the chalk pens on that!  I know… I’m brilliant.  Maybe even a genius.

IMG_3985 IMG_3984

What do you think?  Here’s an overview of how incredibly easy this project was:

  1. Buy supplies:
    • Poster frame
    • Rust-oleum Chalkboard Spray Paint
    • Chalk Pens
  2. Take the frame apart
  3. Spray the MDF backing of the frame (the front side, not the back), let dry about 20 minutes
  4. Spray a second coat, let dry overnight.
  5. Prep the dry chalkboard with regular chalk (not chalk pen) by rubbing chalk all over the board, then erasing it.
  6. Make your calendar outline and add the days of the week (leave off month and days)
  7. Put the frame back together, including the plexiglass.
  8. Write out your calendar
  9. Hang on the wall and admire your fancy DIY-ing wonderfullness!
  10. Nine steps seemed odd to me, so I guess step 10 is to update your calendar as needed (I know, no-brainer!)
DIY Chalk Board

Thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “DIY Cheap Chalkboard

Leave a Reply

